PDA

View Full Version : HPA tanks have a break in ??


SkinWalk3r
03-14-2008, 04:51 AM
I read somewhere that they do. Is this true ? and how long and what needs to be done.

VS3 Sniper
03-14-2008, 05:31 AM
I have never heard of this.....and I've been playing pb for a while.

vikingshadow
03-14-2008, 05:34 AM
I haven't heard of this either, but it does make sense. If a brand new on-gun regulator needs to be broken in, I would imagine that perhaps a brand new on-tank regulator might also need broken in for maximum efficiency.

Interesting thought!

VS3 Sniper
03-14-2008, 05:39 AM
Yea I guess I could see the tank reg might need to be broken in just like a regular reg on a gun.

Hoppy11
03-14-2008, 08:55 AM
This is a good question although I do not know the answer, but I have a feeling that companys like Crossfire and PE break in the regs are already or use a system like MacDev does on the inline regs so there isnt a break in period. There is alot of air pressure moving through that reg and I would imagine that the companies want to know they are working properly and consistant. But thats just me!

bigred76
03-14-2008, 10:05 AM
:yeahthat: I believe that Hopps is right... wait, of course he is right.. when isn't he? ;)

spray and pray
03-15-2008, 03:04 AM
hmmm. It would make sense. But now that I think about it. What makes regs (hyper 2 etc..) need a break in? All they are is just a shim stack that moves up and down. I could understand a good cleaning would make them perform better but I still don't understand the break in thing because of what I said above.

vikingshadow
03-15-2008, 04:43 AM
A lot of people always talk about "break in" time for the Hyper II. Maybe it loosens the shims? I don't know, but I do know that I've shot a few cases (less than 10, not much more, though, I think) and I'm still getting big fluxuations.

Why wouldn't gun reg companies break in their regs like tank companies do? BTW, I was unaware that they did that - so that's pretty cool!

Hoppy11
03-15-2008, 08:19 AM
Vike- idk if tank companies do break their regs in or not. I was just thinking that because of all the pressure that is behind it. Just a different circumstance than a gun reg.

I know MacDev is just a stack of shims and there is almost no break in period. I remember when I got mine and I went to chrono it and I was like why the hell is it not all over the place? Theirs is basically plug and play.

vikingshadow
03-15-2008, 04:13 PM
Ah, I see. I understand your point, also. It makes sense!

This is one of those cool questions that come up every now and then that no one ever thinks to ask...I wonder if maybe one of the companies can actually answer this?

MVS1
03-15-2008, 05:11 PM
This is an excellent question that most (myself included) over-look, yes there is a "break-in" period for any reg; tank or inline. If you monitor a tank reg's output (using a gauge on an ASA that you trust) you will notice that it "settles" over time. It's hard to notice since the in-line reg usually compensates for most fluctuations that the tank reg has but it's still there, just significantly less noticable. I monitored my LP CP tank reg after I got it because I was worried about using it with my A1 that was advertised to need a specific tank output for optimum performance and I found that the CP (and PE w/lp reactor kit installed) did settle after a few cases. Really the only thing you will be able to see is the re-charge rate of the reg's, if you have gauges installed to be able to monitor the changes as the reg's break-in.

timbertiger20
03-15-2008, 08:36 PM
hehe............I could give you an answer..........but if you want an official answer from a manufacturer, I'll get it :)

Hoppy11
03-16-2008, 08:02 AM
If you could do that timber that would be awesome because it would just be nice to know. And like vike said its just one of those really interesting questions.

SkinWalk3r
03-16-2008, 05:35 PM
there has to be one. WHy else would my shots on both my Tippy A-5 & MR2 be all over the place. Unless the tank itself is faulty(crap!)

deano 177
03-16-2008, 06:26 PM
Really the only thing you will be able to see is the re-charge rate of the reg's, if you have gauges installed to be able to monitor the changes as the reg's break-in.

This is a very interesting discussion. I have a brand new crossfire 68/4500 tank. It is a high pressure tank. I have put probably 6 cases through my Vs3 and when using either of my other two used PE tanks, I have never had any problems with the recharge rates. I'll have it set on 250ish+/- and never touch it with velocity ranges of 275-280 all day.

With the new tank I was getting hits of up to 310fps and as low as 199fps. It was really frustrating. I ended up having to set the reg at 300+ just so it would recock properly. Thank goodness I was playing at a field that had air and not our private field. I would have been out of air in one of my tanks before I would have even fired a shot in play.

timbertiger20
03-16-2008, 09:51 PM
My input is this..........all regs need a tiny bit of break-in. It is the o-rings that typically form to fit. You should get a slight increase in consistancy, however it's slight.

Deano-your tank or reg has a problem if your seeing that kind of swing. Out of our MacDev Gladiators, out of the box we typically see +/- 5fps. I do know that all markers are fired at the factory, but I do not know the extent! I also know most regs are pressure tested before they go out. Either way with the knowledge I have of tank regs and on markers HPR's says your tank pressure will effect you HPR outlet very little. I think it was like 25 psi difference in tank output only affects the HPR 1 PSI so to seriously effect your velocity your talking well over 250 psi swings in pressure on your tank!

deano 177
03-17-2008, 10:50 AM
Deano-your tank or reg has a problem if your seeing that kind of swing. Out of our MacDev Gladiators, out of the box we typically see +/- 5fps. I do know that all markers are fired at the factory, but I do not know the extent! I also know most regs are pressure tested before they go out. Either way with the knowledge I have of tank regs and on markers HPR's says your tank pressure will effect you HPR outlet very little. I think it was like 25 psi difference in tank output only affects the HPR 1 PSI so to seriously effect your velocity your talking well over 250 psi swings in pressure on your tank!

It was acting funny... that's for sure. I think it was a charging issue. Maybe they accidentally sent me a tank that is Low pressure? I was watching the psi's when I was shooting and it seemed to stay constant around 175psi but my spyder can't run that low. That is when I was having the recocking issues. Also the 199fps was when the pressure was bled down after the fith shot of a run. The 300+ fps was from the first shot. I have noticed that the marker has been shooting a little hotter than when I first got it. I'll soon have to replace my spring if the FPS keep rising.

pbfreak3221
03-17-2008, 01:36 PM
I just contaced someone who works for DXS, and is a specialist in pressurized air. He had this to say:

Eli,
There is no real break in time needed for the DXS regulator although the regulator will perform better after the first thousand shots, you will not notice a difference in performance. If you have any other questions please contact me and I will be happy to assist you.

Thank you,

Ray Trimble
Manager Technical Services


If anyone has any follow up questions, let me know.

SkinWalk3r
03-18-2008, 04:18 AM
so....he is saying yes and no in the same breath ?

Hoppy11
03-18-2008, 08:50 AM
What he is saying is that they do need a short period of time for the o-rings to set properly but they must test and use them enough before they are shipped out to not even notice a difference in performance.

timbertiger20
03-21-2008, 09:13 PM
Sorry, James has been sick :( Probably to much Pixie dust inhalation while milling new Borgs :)