PDA

View Full Version : New regulator for my VS3


mastodon13
03-03-2008, 07:12 PM
I'm pretty new to trying to upgrade my marker and I heard getting a regulator would be a good upgrade. What I was wondering was what a new regulator will do for my VS3? What one I should consider? Also does any kind of regulator work or do I need a specific one to fit for my gun? Thanks A lot!

ZachG86
03-03-2008, 11:47 PM
You need to get a reg adapter. You'll also need to get a new dovetail-mounted ASA, and new macroline fittings since Spyder's are metric. I just ordered a whole setup from Custom Products the other day (reg adapter, shorty reg, gauge, on/off ASA, and macro fittings). There are others you can use though.

Just make sure to use HPA though, I'm pretty sure most of the aftermarket regs can only take HPA.

king-man
03-04-2008, 12:44 PM
get a trinity front block, they are like $10 higher and way worth it i think, then its only two pieces not three, and there aren't any leaks on a front block, idk if they ever have but i can see an adapter doin that, also how much must i stress, u dont need a new asa, fi you cant afford it, dont buy, but when you can, go for it, better efficiancy

spray and pray
03-05-2008, 04:33 AM
You need a new asa. It will starve the gun if you don't have one. Reg adapters don't leak. Just get the adapter, the front blocks are made of cheap aluminum.

king-man
03-05-2008, 05:51 AM
You need a new asa. It will starve the gun if you don't have one. Reg adapters don't leak. Just get the adapter, the front blocks are made of cheap aluminum.

I didnt say they necceraly would i just said they would be more likely to than the front block, also i used my stock asa reg and had no problems out of it with a new reg, like i said they if you let them go wide open then you're fine just it may not be able to handle over 25bps

mastodon13
03-05-2008, 11:54 AM
Thanks for the info guys. Also can I buy can any kind of drop foward for my VS3 and would it be easy. Would I have to somehow readjust the macro line or what?

king-man
03-05-2008, 01:55 PM
it depends on the ASA you use, if you use a straight one like the stock one you should just be able to cut it down, idk if you use one that goes on the side.

mastodon13
03-05-2008, 05:50 PM
I was thinking about buying a CP Direct Mount On-Off ASA and a cp Spyder Razor Drop with Dove Tail. Do you think that will work well? Thanks for the reply.

king-man
03-05-2008, 06:01 PM
Hmm..should, no wait, im not sure on this one but regular spyder drops dont work on the VS's bcuaes the way the holes are lined up, reg,. spyder aren't alligned, vs's are

mastodon13
03-05-2008, 06:58 PM
Hmm..should, no wait, im not sure on this one but regular spyder drops dont work on the VS's bcuaes the way the holes are lined up, reg,. spyder aren't alligned, vs's are

So what if I use a Custom Products Micro Razor Drop Forward and so the regular spyders aren't alligned and the VS's are? Do you think the ASA will go with it too?

king-man
03-06-2008, 04:04 AM
So what if I use a Custom Products Micro Razor Drop Forward
Should Wokr
and so the regular spyders aren't alligned and the VS's are?
Im pretty sure, i dont have a drop myself
Do you think the ASA will go with it too?
As long as its a standard dovetail it should


Answeres in Bold

Doc77
03-06-2008, 05:57 AM
What size tank are you using? I ask this because you may run into fitting/clearance issues with a micro razor drop. If your tank is too large (68ci), you will not be able to attach it to your ASA because the micro drop only drops about 2in and pushes forward about 4in. Measure the radius of your tank (this is the minimum drop that you need when choosing your drop forward). Also, get an ASA that is dovetail mounted rather than direct mounting. Both will work, but the dovetail will look better. Also, VS's use inline holes, older models have staggered (these are the ones that need rail adapters).

king-man
03-06-2008, 01:16 PM
yeah, it needs to be about 2 3/4, that would fit all the way up to 72ci

mastodon13
03-06-2008, 06:50 PM
Thanks you guys.