PDA

View Full Version : Air Tank Filling

pbfreak3221
02-27-2008, 01:42 PM
I asked this question over on the nation, and it was instantly locked claiming to be unsafe. I was wondering, my field for the longest time had the rule that refs were the only ones aloud to fill tanks. They just are beginning to let us. I have been playing for two years, and feel like a noob for asking this. Do you just pull back the attachment on the end of the hose, and push over the nipple. Then you slowly push down the lever till the compressor is putting out 4500 psi, and then look at your air tank reg and once it hits 68. Is that it, then I just remove it? Is there a certain speed I should fill it? What should I watch out for?

colonel_moo
02-27-2008, 02:34 PM
filling tanks is extremely easy. i doubt your field's compressor/booster will output more than 4500 psi to begin with, but basically you connect the hose to the fill nipple and hit the lever until your tank gets to 4500 psi.

bigred76
02-27-2008, 02:37 PM
You have a 4500psi tank I'm assuming, right? Find out where the fill station is for that at your field. You pretty much have it. If you've ever had a remote line, the way to fill the tank is basically the same way as hooking it up. Slide the slide check down, push it onto the fill nipple, and let the slide come back up. That seals your tank to the air line, don't touch it while filling! Pull the lever either way and hold it while looking at the gauge on your tank and when it hits 4500psi or wont go any higher, whichever comes first, you're full. Most fill lines are regulated to only put out the amount that's specified so idiots don't destroy their tanks. Release your hold on the lever and it'll return to its "neutral" spot in the middle and bleed the air out of the hose running to your tank. After you hear the bleed-off, undo the fill nipple in the same way you put it on. ;)