PDA

View Full Version : Nitrogen or AIR


SkinWalk3r
01-25-2008, 11:28 AM
Is there a difference in Performance. Does either have to be used in a certain way. I just got my Pure Energy 68ci/4500 tank and was going to get it filled tommorow. The local store only does Nitrogen. I dont have a regulator . Just remote direct to my gun. Do I have to do anything special ?

MVS1
01-25-2008, 11:48 AM
Your good to go, Nitro and Air perform basically the same. Your P.E. tank reg will be putting out somewhere b/t 800-1000psi (most likely right around 850psi) and will vary a little until the tank reg gets broken in.

SpyderMan723
01-25-2008, 11:49 AM
Is there a difference in Performance. Does either have to be used in a certain way. I just got my Pure Energy 68ci/4500 tank and was going to get it filled tommorow. The local store only does Nitrogen. I dont have a regulator . Just remote direct to my gun. Do I have to do anything special ?

Nitrogen and Air is the same thing.
No, you can use your tank w/o a reg.
The Reg is only if you wanna go LP

SkinWalk3r
01-25-2008, 11:51 AM
allrighty. this should be FUN I HOPE LOL

chnk
01-25-2008, 02:04 PM
actually nitrogen and air use to be two totally different things back in the day. but now they are the same thing.

supposably n2 was more consistent than air but ran out much quicker from and cost more than air what my local field owner told me.

SkinWalk3r
01-25-2008, 04:16 PM
ok. I got it in. There is no Hydro date on it ?? who puts that on ?

kramernator
01-25-2008, 04:47 PM
well think about it the air that he breathe is the same air that is put in the tank. the air we breathe is about 72% nitrogen, so there is hardly any difference.

oh and i think the guy that sells the tank puts it on.

chnk
01-25-2008, 04:48 PM
there is no hydro date or label on it? thats not really good, i'd get that hydro tested just to be on the safe side because a tank does make a potential missile,

ask the guy who you bought it from

SkinWalk3r
01-25-2008, 05:58 PM
there is no hydro date or label on it? thats not really good, i'd get that hydro tested just to be on the safe side because a tank does make a potential missile,

ask the guy who you bought it from

oopsie. I found it. I was looking for something like "HYDRO DATE 05/12/007" or something like that ...I found the "05-CL-07" I am assuming then the next date is May of 2012 right ?

deano 177
01-26-2008, 06:30 AM
Pure energy tanks need hydro testing every 5 years. Never use petroleum based lubricants on the valve or pin. It will blow. If you need to lube it use silicone based oils or silicone based grease. I'm trying to get away from using petro based oils and get on the silicone ones. The pure energy (http://www.buypmi.com/pure_energy.html) tanks come with the output psi set around 800+ and if you want to go low pressure they have a kit that you can add to the tank. Sweet, huh?

vikingshadow
01-26-2008, 08:20 AM
Are you sure on the hydro for Pure Energy tanks? Mine is a 3 year tank.

SkinWalk3r
01-27-2008, 07:25 AM
good question how do you tell if its a 3yr or a five year tank ?

never mind. Mine a Five year tank. It says "hydro test every five years"

SkinWalk3r
01-27-2008, 02:47 PM
BTW do you leave the air in the tank after you are done playing for the day. Is that ok like with CO2 or do you have to dump it ?

SpyderMan723
01-27-2008, 03:09 PM
BTW do you leave the air in the tank after you are done playing for the day. Is that ok like with CO2 or do you have to dump it ?

you can keep it in there. Its fine.

Worse case scenario, It blows up and kills you.:D

But I wouldn't worry about that happening.