PDA

View Full Version : New Guy in the Woods

dreurich
12-13-2007, 12:54 PM
I'm brand new to the sport and am super excited to get into it. I got a Spyder Sonix Classic for Christmas (Can't open it until the big day :mad: ) and will be bringing it up to the cold cold north for a debut. I've been trying to research the ins and outs of the marker, the CO2, the paint balls, etc. so that I can enjoy while I'm up there. I was hoping to get some answers from knowledgeable folk on some cold weather issues I've heard about.

1. I've heard a lot about the cold allowing the liquid CO2 to get into the internals and interrupt operation. Is this just an inconvenience, or could the internals actually be damaged because of this. I've heard varying explanations. It's going to be COLD up there (Maine) and I'm wondering if I should scrap the endeavor and wait for a warmer clime.

2. We're going to be on our own property and will not have access to a filling station for the CO2 (We'll be in the middle of nowhere). Is it okay to travel with charged cylinders? How far can we go on one full cylinder?

3. Any hints on where I can get winter paint balls? Not much luck in local establishments.

4. I'm concerned about chronoing. Don't have access to a chrono. Do variables such as temperature and altitude affect the exit velocity? If so do I need to chrono the marker at each new location? Man, I hope that's not a dumb question!:confused:

Anyway, any insight is helpful, so thanks! Can't wait to get started!

Sandman_Bravo
12-13-2007, 01:19 PM
I'm brand new to the sport and am super excited to get into it. I got a Spyder Sonix Classic for Christmas (Can't open it until the big day :mad: ) and will be bringing it up to the cold cold north for a debut. I've been trying to research the ins and outs of the marker, the CO2, the paint balls, etc. so that I can enjoy while I'm up there. I was hoping to get some answers from knowledgeable folk on some cold weather issues I've heard about.