PDA

View Full Version : Co2 or compressed air


JackTheRipper
10-25-2007, 11:56 AM
Ok im new to these boards and to paintball for that matter! But anyway my brand new mr2 will be here tomorrow and i need some input on what to use as far as air goes? I read all the important topics on these forums and all of the info will be very helpful im sure! I will be braking the gun in by hand before the first shot is fired! And I am planning a u ton of upgrades in the very near future!

interceptorMR2
10-25-2007, 03:18 PM
go with compressed air!!! co2 is ok, but there is no comparison between n2 and co2. i use co2, and im switching soon to n2 but ive used compressed air before... ITS SO MUCH BETTER!! its so much more consistant

The Pumper
10-25-2007, 04:10 PM
Yes compressed air is a more consistant.

Little more expensive, but worth it.

oldironmudder
10-25-2007, 04:17 PM
Compressed air(N2 & HPA) is far better but you have a higher upfront cost than Co2. Ive been shooting & filling my own Co2 tanks for about 8 years now and cant really think of any problems from it other than trying to play when its REALLY cold out side before I had a regulator & the marker tuned.

jbtoronto
10-26-2007, 04:28 AM
HPA and you'r winter problems are solved-don't get stock home cuz you can't go out painballing in the snow!!!

;-)

JackTheRipper
10-26-2007, 10:16 AM
thanks guys! I should just be able to use the 20 Co2 tank i got with it for the time being correct? just till I get the dough for a bigger and better on and thanks again!

The Pumper
10-26-2007, 10:18 AM
Ya. CO2 is fine. Its not like we're saying to dont ever use it. I still use it on my spyder.

So yes, using co2 is fine until you can afford an hpa tank.

JackTheRipper
10-26-2007, 11:13 AM
Opps I should of worded that a little better my bad! What I ment was can I use compressed air in the 20oz Co2 tank I got instead of running Co2 in it?

oldironmudder
10-26-2007, 03:42 PM
NO NO NO NO

Co2 tanks have a blow off valve at 1800psi & store the gas in a liquid. CA is totally a gas & tanks range from 3000psi to 5000psi.

pb34
10-26-2007, 04:40 PM
:yeahthat:

You can use CO2 in your CO2 tank until you want to upgrade. If you just plan on playing recreationally with some friends there isn't really a strong need to get compressed air. Although compressed air is a much better option the tanks cost way more. Thats pretty much the only downside to compressed air. Where as CO2 will change consistency with temperature and it's a "dirty" gas.

Basically what I'm saying is upgrade if you feel the need to. :)

JackTheRipper
10-26-2007, 05:29 PM
cool thanks for the info!!! ill just get me a hpa tank!

BsCbandit09
10-26-2007, 06:58 PM
just curious how much do those hpa tanks cost like equal to the size of a 20oz as Co2

theklu
10-26-2007, 08:39 PM
just curious how much do those hpa tanks cost like equal to the size of a 20oz as Co2


cheapest you can get a tank is at actionvillage.com for around $50~55 on sale, its what i have (but it makes this gun rediculiously heavy (i have tach vest with a remote line)! - i tried my friends carbon tank out, OMG, so much lighter but those things go for $180 on up

The Pumper
10-26-2007, 08:44 PM
you can find used carbon fiber tanks for around 100ish

BsCbandit09
10-26-2007, 08:46 PM
like on ebay they have them?

pb34
10-27-2007, 04:24 AM
You could probably find some one Ebay but your best bet for used tanks is www.pbnation.com and look in the buy/sell/trade area.

felceaz
10-27-2007, 07:48 AM
What about this, lets say i have both tanks, a Co2 Tank and a N2 tank, can i use one of them as a system backup in the same game? i mean i would not need to do any changes in my marker rather than adjusting the velocity spring?

slim and shady
10-27-2007, 07:59 AM
You shouldnt have to do any adjustments out side of velocity. Unless you have a regulator then your Co2 should be antisiphoned(SP). But if you dont have a reg you should be fine.