PDA

View Full Version : Co2 On Macro


VS2 King
09-01-2007, 09:51 PM
Does Co2 Work With macro or just with braided hoses.

Hossy
09-01-2007, 10:05 PM
I believe Co2 will work with macro, but for a very little time because of the pressure difference or something so it is not recommended because it will burst sooner rather than later.

I would not suggest using macro and Co2, stick with the braided hose, and use HPA with the macro

Nenkitsune
09-01-2007, 11:18 PM
Get macro from Hobby horse. it has a tensile strength of up to 9000psi (yes, nine THOUSAND!!!)

Critical
09-02-2007, 06:48 AM
I never had a problem using quality macro with CO2.

Oscum Guy
09-02-2007, 07:55 AM
i have leaking probs with macro and co2. by the fitting i mean.

HelpDeskHustler
09-02-2007, 09:02 AM
i heard it was OVER NINE THOUSAND! :dodgy:

I used to use co2 with bad macro and only had trouble one time... it busted while sitting in the sun... it was rather loud and the hole in the macro was 3x the size of the hose. Hobbyhorse's stuff shouldn't do that though.

Hossy
09-02-2007, 09:21 AM
Hobbyhorse's stuff shouldn't do that though.

yeah, but isnt there some problem with the temp of Co2?

HelpDeskHustler
09-02-2007, 09:34 AM
yeah, but isnt there some problem with the temp of Co2?
Only when you shoot a lot of paint really fast (and let the line freeze) or you let the sun hit it a lot (and expand the gas) Co2 is highly susceptible to change pressures just because of temperature.

it should work fine. Macro explosions aren't generally dangerous beyond hearing. I'd reccomend a simple on/off and just turn it off when not playing, and GENTLY turn it on when you begin playing (if you do it fast the wave of pressure could weaken the line). Hobby Horse has a 9000psi line, so even when CO2 expands, it shouldn't pass that. I was using a 1200psi line, and thats pretty close to what co2 comes out at.

timbertiger20
09-02-2007, 04:48 PM
I typed out a long essay only to lose it. The long and short is the line he's been selling is rated for 2000 psi burst strength and the following chart might help. Keep your marker and CO2 out of the sun and you'll be fine!
http://www.warpig.com/paintball/technical/gasses/co2pv.gif

VS2 King
09-02-2007, 05:21 PM
Thanks Everyone For Your Support And Answers. Also I have Another Question Will Macro Line That Is Certified For Up To 450 Psi Work With The Output Pressure Of 800 Psi.

NeedForSpeed
09-02-2007, 06:10 PM
It may for a very short while. But it's certified for 450 psi for a reason. It's not going to be that strong and durable. I wouldn't use it.

timbertiger20
09-02-2007, 07:09 PM
The macro I have from HobbyHorse is by far the best quality I have found although only rated to a working pressure of 500 psi. Output of by bottles are just over 750 psi and I am yet to have a break! That is with air!

Kenny_McCormic
09-02-2007, 08:53 PM
The macro I have from HobbyHorse is by far the best quality I have found although only rated to a working pressure of 500 psi. Output of by bottles are just over 750 psi and I am yet to have a break! That is with air!
9000psi tensile (theoretical burst) strength/5*3=5400psi max working pressure
thats using the 3/5 safety standard

timbertiger20
09-02-2007, 09:04 PM
ummmm I dunno where 5^3 came from but they specify exact working and breaking pressure in the data books.

Nenkitsune
09-03-2007, 10:06 AM
i've been using hobby's macroline on my guns for the past year without any problem. actually, i'm still using the same peice of macro on my spyder, and i always use co2. Even did a bunch of max cps tests ^^

bigred76
09-03-2007, 10:09 AM
End of story and bickering, just buy macro from Hobby Horse. It'll fix all your questions and needs. www.macrolineguy.com Might as well buy something else from him at the same time as his shipping's cheap as sin.

Charfizcool
09-03-2007, 10:11 AM
yeah Hobby Horse ftw. I've used C02 in macroline before and never had any leaks and it hasn't burst.

Tito=PBL
09-07-2007, 11:29 AM
i heard it was OVER NINE THOUSAND! :dodgy:


lol. ITS OVER NINE THOUSAND!!! lol
have any of u seen that vid? its lol

druid
09-07-2007, 12:18 PM
hobbyhorse sells really good macro...but the inside diameter is smaller than others. His is the thick-walled version which is a bit restrictive and my Ion wouldn't cycle at low psi with it.

I'm sure on any stock HP marker (spyder, tippmann, etc) it will be fine though...

SparkyGT
09-14-2007, 09:57 AM
i have leaking probs with macro and co2. by the fitting i mean.

Same problems with macro fittings, on my co2 only guns i have some compression ones that do the trick

DFSniper
09-14-2007, 10:58 AM
i have leaking probs with macro and co2. by the fitting i mean.

did you use the stock teflon/loc-tite coating that came with it? i always find it better to wrap a layer of teflon tape around the fitting before screwing it in.

as for the co2 question, i run my imagine on macro, and ive never had a problem.