PDA

View Full Version : Another one for the guitarists, What Amp do you use?

shunut
08-19-2007, 12:21 PM
As many of you know I started playing the guitar at the beginning of the year. I have a Marshall MG Series 15CDR Amp (http://www.marshallamps.com/product.asp?productCode=MG15CDR). Its a decent little amp for a beginner but its not great. I get a lot of feedback and unless you have the knobs just right, it doesn't sound great. So I'm looking to get something new. I don't want to spend a ton of money but I do want a decent amp with a clean sound. So I was wondering what everyone else's experience has been. What amps do you have, have you used, like, don't like, ect...

Also, since I'm looking to clean up the sound, I'm wondering what else I can do. The cable I use is a fairly decent cable, although I've been eying a DiMarzio cable. I've heard they are pretty good and have a lifetime warranty.

I'm sure that the pickups have a lot to do with how clean the sound of your guitar is but I don't really know much about the build of guitars so I wouldn't even know where to start with new pickups or even if I need new pickups. My guitar is a decent guitar, not a cheap-o guitar. I have the Ibanez SA260FM (http://www.ibanez.com/eg/guitar.aspx?m=SA260FM&c=TLB).

Any help would be great and much appreciated.

leed
08-20-2007, 12:06 AM
I have use a VOX Valvetronix 15W amp. It's a semi-tube, so it's a little different than a straight electronic amp. I like it, but I have found that custom settings and effects that are bulit into the amp are kind of useless, and if I were to get another, I would get a straight up tube amp, and just get pedals instead.

We have the 150W or 75W or whatever it is at school, and it is more or less the same, just more power (obviously).