PDA

View Full Version : Oh crap, almost forgot my anniversary!

DRAGON
05-30-2007, 03:52 PM
Just reminiscing the past and realized I have been playing paintball for 20 years now...

Was at lunch from work and somehow eneded up at a magazine store and saw an APG on the shelf. Thumbed through it and said, "OMFG I have got to try this!" :eek: Took the mag back to work and showed it to teh boys and it seems I wasn't the only one enthused -

There was an ad in APG for Hell Survivors in Pinkney, Michigan. I ended up calling them and asked if they'd send some info to me. Once I got the info I realized if I got 20 players together I could play for free(wowie zowie!). :o Between my friends and people from work I ended up getting 30 people together for our first day of 'splatball'(what we called it then) -

We all showed up on the field looking as noobish as was then. If you were an experienced player you were camo'd down. Most of us had blue jeans and t-shirts on -

Since there were so many of us we ended up playing against a regular team and all the walk-ons. We could have played a private game but chose to endeavor the experienced players cuz we wuz some baaaaaad doods from Detroit! :cool:

The field markers were .50 cal. Crossman Spotmarkers which resembled a .357 Mag handgun. We bought .50 cal paint in 100 round baggies for $10. We had no tubes so we had to carry the baggies in our pockets. Worse yet the Spotmarker only had cylindrical 6 shot chambers that had to be reloaded by hand in the field when you ran out of ammo. Another conciliation :dodgy: of the Spotmarker was the grip had to be removed at around 25 shots to add another 12 gram C02 cartridge. There were no full face masks then, just these Uvix goggles that resembled shop gogles. If you took one in the face, throat or ear, it was just tough patooties. I had plenty of fat lips in the day......but that's all in the fun of things right? -