PDA

View Full Version : Finally! New computer.


UKwithPride
05-29-2007, 10:48 AM
I just ordered all of my parts today after selling my laptop locally.



GIGABYTE GA-M55SLI-S4 Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard

Linkworld 3166-12 Black/ Silver Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 430W Power Supply

EVERCOOL SFF-12 120mm Case Fan

PHILIPS Combo Drive Black ATAPI/E-IDE Model SPD2850BM/17

G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL4D-2GBHK

Seagate SV35 Series ST3160812SV 160GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive -

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Windsor 2.0GHz Socket AM2 Processor Model ADA3800CUBOX -

XFX PVT84JUDD3 GeForce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card
Grand Total: $538.43

Then after shipping and rush processing it came to 610 dollars, I'm so excited!!!

leed
05-29-2007, 03:25 PM
Freak. Get a life!

<3

Sounds nice, let's hope it all works, would suck if everything fried after 7 minutes of use.

UKwithPride
05-29-2007, 03:39 PM
haha, ya it would. More good news! I payed for rush processing and it's already shipped! Should HOPEFULLY be here by friday, I'm so excited!!! Will have pics when it arrives.

Ace24
05-29-2007, 03:59 PM
You probably could have gotten a bigger hard drive and a faster processor, but for that price, who cares. Thats a damn good price for all of that.

I'm thinking of going down that road some time soon. This computer is so outdated, it's pretty much only good for the lowest quality on games and internet/IM usage.

Sandman_Bravo
05-29-2007, 04:44 PM
pics or shens!

UKwithPride
05-29-2007, 09:31 PM
you'll get pics when it gets here! haha.

I went with that CPU because it was 20 dollars cheaper than the 4200 which was 2.2 ghz, and I can just overclock the 2.0 to 2.2 easily.
Before i do stuff with the hdd, i'm getting a new PSU also.

HelpDeskHustler
05-30-2007, 02:26 AM
what! where was this purchased from!

UKwithPride
05-30-2007, 11:39 AM
neweggggggggggggggg.commmmmm lol.

newegg.com

HelpDeskHustler
05-30-2007, 12:28 PM
at that price i might have to copzies :dodgy:

Hossy
05-30-2007, 01:20 PM
how much was rush processing?

Ace24
05-30-2007, 03:43 PM
Newegg is kick ass. I've heard of alot of people getting their computers from there. That might be one of my summer purchases aside from a Wii, and a '06 Cyborg.

UKwithPride
05-30-2007, 08:00 PM
at that price i might have to copzies :dodgy:
I can get you all the links if you want, shoot me a pm if you feel like it.

how much was rush processing?
2.99, and it was well worth it. Case will be here tomorrow, and the rest on friday.

UKwithPride
05-31-2007, 05:27 PM
First piece came today! Can't wait until tomorrow!!!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v251/Offspringkid14/Picture002.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v251/Offspringkid14/Picture003.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v251/Offspringkid14/Picture004.jpg

DFSniper
06-04-2007, 08:25 AM
very nice, but i would have gone a little more all-out on mine... i need to upgrade my X1600 to an 8800GTS or GTX... i cant believe how much the dual core cpus are running for now since they first Quad core came out. i got a single core 3800+ for $97 about a year after the X2s came out.

just an afterthought, since you're running the X2 and SATA HDD along with the 8600, i'd get a little more powerful power supply than a 430 just incase. i wouldnt get anything less than a 550, maybe a 500.

UKwithPride
06-04-2007, 11:10 AM
very nice, but i would have gone a little more all-out on mine... i need to upgrade my X1600 to an 8800GTS or GTX... i cant believe how much the dual core cpus are running for now since they first Quad core came out. i got a single core 3800+ for $97 about a year after the X2s came out.

just an afterthought, since you're running the X2 and SATA HDD along with the 8600, i'd get a little more powerful power supply than a 430 just incase. i wouldnt get anything less than a 550, maybe a 500.
Already done. I used the power supply calculator also and it said 308 watts is good for what i have. BUT just because, i ordered a new PSU lol, 500 watt raidmax. It'll be here wednesday. I was on a budget, if i had 300-400 to spend on a vid card I would have went with the 8800. But it just wasn't happening.

Nenkitsune
06-04-2007, 11:32 AM
ehh i would've gone for a 550-600 watt. killer system, but for the price, you can't beat my rig haha. i think i spent umm....60 dollars on a processor and graphics card froma friend. the rest were spare parts i stole from my friends or i already owned from older systems ^^

but...i don't remember what motherboard i have...oh, biostar.
Biostar nf3-250 (socket 754)
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (venice, a rare core for this socket)
2 512 sticks of corsair value select (salvaged from my socket a system)
600watt rosewill powersupply
offbrand cd burner (burns 48x so who cares)
off brand dvd drive (not burner)
gforce 6600 (overclocked MASSIVELY)
heat sink off an X2 4400 (from stock, cooled the temps at LEAST 5c)
sound blaster LIVE! WDM (old ass soundcard from a gateway performance 1000, it may be old, but man does it sound good)
i think that's it. it runs fast (even with vista ultimate) and has yet to let me down. it's overclocked from 2.0ghz, to 2.4ghz and is 100% stable.

UKwithPride
06-04-2007, 09:43 PM
it is done!!!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v251/Offspringkid14/Picture001.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v251/Offspringkid14/Picture003-1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v251/Offspringkid14/Picture004-1.jpg

HelpDeskHustler
06-05-2007, 02:35 AM
so if i was looking to build on the hopes that I could super upgrade within a few months and I wanted to build off of AMD's new layout (i think it's a mother board) which allows the use of side by side processors (up to quad core w/ their dual core processors... 8 core with their quad that is coming out) and ATI's crossfire capabilities... what would I get?

UKwithPride
06-05-2007, 08:51 AM
so if i was looking to build on the hopes that I could super upgrade within a few months and I wanted to build off of AMD's new layout (i think it's a mother board) which allows the use of side by side processors (up to quad core w/ their dual core processors... 8 core with their quad that is coming out) and ATI's crossfire capabilities... what would I get?
What do you mean would you get? Performance wise would be amazing. This compy gets 120FPS+ on all high settings on CSS. I was expecting 100-120 with this setup.

If you mean what would you get by hardware, I have no idea about AMD's new layout. But if you are going with ATI's crossfire, make sure your mobo supports it. I almost made the mistake of getting a crossfire mobo when I was going with Nvidia when their's is SLI, not crossfire.

HelpDeskHustler
06-05-2007, 10:37 AM
What do you mean would you get? Performance wise would be amazing. This compy gets 120FPS+ on all high settings on CSS. I was expecting 100-120 with this setup.

If you mean what would you get by hardware, I have no idea about AMD's new layout. But if you are going with ATI's crossfire, make sure your mobo supports it. I almost made the mistake of getting a crossfire mobo when I was going with Nvidia when their's is SLI, not crossfire.
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Corporate/VirtualPressRoom/0,,51_104_543~117412,00.html

when looking for the article at AMD I couldn't find it... but I found that instead. Maybe I read it wrong or I read an article about the Server Mobo's that support dual opterons. I don't think that first one is the one I read... if anyone finds something about dual AM2 sockets on one MoBo let me know.

UKwithPride
06-06-2007, 03:00 PM
New pics with the new power supply that came today.


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v251/Offspringkid14/Picture006.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v251/Offspringkid14/Picture005.jpg

newkid
06-06-2007, 05:52 PM
im sure that i would be impressed if i knew what i was looking at

Hob Hayward
06-06-2007, 06:49 PM
Looks very nice, amazing price too...

Ace24
06-06-2007, 07:56 PM
The only view you haven't shown us is the back of the box with the motherboard in it. Lets see what the motherboard has on it.

Never-the-less... amazing price for a good computer.

DFSniper
06-07-2007, 10:41 PM
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Corporate/VirtualPressRoom/0,,51_104_543~117412,00.html

when looking for the article at AMD I couldn't find it... but I found that instead. Maybe I read it wrong or I read an article about the Server Mobo's that support dual opterons. I don't think that first one is the one I read... if anyone finds something about dual AM2 sockets on one MoBo let me know.

yeah, i heard about it a while ago, but i dont think its out yet.