PDA

View Full Version : upgrades gone really wrong

dyno
04-05-2007, 07:23 AM
I'm new to paintball, played twice using my new pilot acs. Had no problems with it both times. Bought upgrades for it. Halo TSA backman hopper, j&j ceramic 16" barrell, and trinity clamping feedneck. Put them all on and it chops... alot. Took them off and it's fine. Put the j&j barrell on, no breaks, added the feedneck and occational break in the breach. Added the halo tsa... bang..bang..bang..BREAK..splatter..balls fly all over the place until I break it down and clean it. I didn't program the halo 'cause I don't know what's best so I just turned it on. The break is ususally in the breach. I read the reviews on all these parts and didn't see anyone having problems with them. I only shoot in semi and the testing has be with about 500 balls shot slowly. I've only tried 2 paints (Visible Impact, and some other brand I got with my pods). I'm going to try Recon, Draxxus, and X-Ball. Any feedback, direction, or assistance would be great.

Thanks for the help.

ross * pilot
04-05-2007, 08:34 AM
Your problem is probably from blowback, or you didnt break in your ACS bolt. The spring is pretty stiff, but you need to take out your bolt and break in the spring by moving it up and down (watch tv while you do it). This will break in the spring and prevent most chops.

dyno
04-05-2007, 09:14 AM
Thanks,

would "popcorn" be a sign of blowback? I noticed the paintballs were jumping around alot in the gravity hopper.

To break-in the bolt, do I just compress the spring over and over to loosen it up?

I also crono my marker and made sure it was set at 280bps. and switched co2 tanks.

Thanks for your help.

ross * pilot
04-05-2007, 09:32 AM
yep, popcorning is a big sign of blowback, extra air seeps through the top of the bolt, going up the feedneck chamber. Because the stock ACS bolt has no orings, you're unfortunately going to get blowback.